Clubplanet Nightlife Community
Sign in to follow this  
Guest patmc

Beatport: Crack For Music Junkies? Part One

Guest patmc

Beatportaholics Anonymous

My name is Patrick and I have a confession to make. I am a beatportaholic. I have been beatporting for a couple of months now, starting out with a track here, a track there, but it has grown into an all consuming habit, which has invaded every facet of my life. This week I have spent over two hundred dollars on tracks, and have been forced to eat spaghetti from a can as I can no longer afford proper food. Yesterday I was so desperate to get the Nalin and Kane remix of Café Del Mar that I broke into my neighbours apartment and mugged him for his laundry money, all for a couple of tunes. For those unfamiliar with the potent and addictive new drug the Kids are calling "Beatport" or simply "Port", allow me to fill you in.

Cro-Magnon Music

The missing link in the brave new world of the digital DJ, legal MP3 download sites catering purely for Dance are quickly becoming an irreplaceable weapon in the arsenal of the twenty first century tech-jock. At the head of the pack lies Beatport, a hulking green monster, carrying everything from minimal techno to hard trance to old school classics, all in one highly polished and incredibly user friendly website.

Tracks are priced between one and two dollars each making it an extremely cost effective way to build one's collection of cutting edge Dance music. With an extensive catalogue, encompassing some of the biggest labels around (subliminal, azuli, etc...) and a whole host of other smaller independents, beatport is creating a serious stir in the world of electronic music.

Any Port In A Storm