Clubplanet Nightlife Community

Is that club "Spa" really worth it??????

I was at Spa on Thursday night. It's the best Thursday night party in the city right now. It's really mixed - a great crowd, very fabby people – mostly without day job types. I saw lots of Juniorverse and Arena friends. Probably a little more "downtown Manhattan'ish" than most of you are used to. Steve (Lewis) & Jackie's (Christie) backroom girl party from Life Thursdays is there, and they got Marc (Berkley) to promote as well - comp with a fagtag last thursday. Darrell (Elmore) and others do the door. Very nice space, much nicer than System. Fernando told me that it used to be a titty bar - you can tell. It was Jackie's birthday last Thursday and Michael Diamond opened up for her. Michael was lackluster, but Jackie was great as usual. Good 80’s music in the other room. I’m going back this week. I didn’t see Howard Stern or hear that he was there.

So I'm a newbie? OK, whatever.

I went there for the event thrown by John Davis (promoter of Body&Soul) with Dj Deep. It was fabulous but I think it was very different from what it is on normal nights.

When Dj Deep played there you had the full spectrum of club crowd, from the "See and be Seen" crowd (let's call them sabs) to the ghetto black crowd, body&soul hippies and Roxy chelsea Queens plus a few ravers. IMHO, when a crowd is that diverse is when the vibe is the best. A few of the sabs were disapointed to see the B&S hippies and ghetto black crowd in their club, but it was all good, the closed minded ones left shortly. (See my intercation with a gucci and versace guy on a previous post)