Clubplanet Nightlife Community

A Century of Flight

funketeer

That flight lasted about 12 seconds and could have taken place inside the fuselage of a Boeing 747-200 (231 ft long). Do yourselves a favor, drive by MIA on perimeter road and watch some airliners take off and land in honor of today's celebration. Trust me, you will be in awe at what man has accomplished in 100 years. I went through 4 1/2 years of studying it all and I still stare at the Virgin Atlantic A340 or AIr France's 747 lifting off 9R heading for Europe!!!

:D:hat: thank you.

I am with you Phillipio, it still amazes me every time I fly or go by an airport. To go from flying for 12 seconds and 120 feet to orbiting the moon and making Space travel seem ordinary, is a huge accomplishment. I am not an Aero Engineer now but I did study MAE my first 2 years of college but found the people I was working with to dull to deal with every day. My goal was to be able to design roller coasters and use all of the lessons learned in Aerospace engineering to make some mind-blowing roller coasters. Then I saw how the market was evolving with the government contracts with the defense dept and most of the Roller Coaster manufacturers are not even US based anymore and mostly in Germany and Switzerland (the big boys). Well I kinda went off on a tangent but still...

Just imagine what flight will be like in another 100 years!

:eek:

Also I just saw this.

Re-Enactment of Wright Bros. Flight Fails

Dec 17, 12:43 PM (ET)

Larry Park sprays the wings of the 1903 Wright Flyer with distilled water to tighten the canvas Wednesday, Dec. 17, 2003, in Kill Devil Hills, N.C., during the First Flight Centennial.(AP Photo/Grant Halverson)

FIRST_FLIGHT.sff_NCBJ109_20031217115917.jpg

KILL DEVIL HILLS, N.C. (AP) - One-hundred years after the Wright brothers' first flight, an attempt to re-create the moment failed Wednesday when a replica craft couldn't get off the ground and sputtered into the mud.