Clubplanet Nightlife Community

Looking for a bartending job...with no exp.

Guest lil_liz

Guest lil_liz

I am getting myself one of those bartending books and researching jobs and what not, but would like your help as to where I should begin looking because I have no experience as a bartender. It would only be a weekend job, still keeping my full time. Any recommendations would be appreciated. Thanks!

Guest somefiercehouse

i hope you're hot and easy!

you might want to start out as a shot girl, no offense, but especially in miami, most clubs, correct me if i'm wrong, need someone with experience in a high volume atmosphere. they don't want a girl going to look in her intoxication dictionary everytime someone orders a drink...not to mention, it's hard to read in the dark.

GOOD LUCK TO YOU THOUGH! I WISH YOU THE BEST!

Guest snipper

monster.com and craigslist.com are always good places to start. But really, the best way to go is just wander up to the bars and hit them up. Your best places to start are NOT in the big clubs, of course. Start out at someplace like Fridays or Bennigan's. Or maybe some of the smaller mainland bars. Get some experience, then work up from there.

Guest lyrik

Thanks for the replies, I am glad I can always count on people down here. Forget I even asked ::)

Liz the best way to get into something like that is to know somebody...especially if you have little experience. So hit up some friends on the beach that might know someone that can get you in...maybe doing a small shift to see how you work out 1st. I would study up pretty good first...if you teach yourself and are a fast learner...well then you can just BS about your past experience if you want.

Guest AlanS

I've always wondered if the bartending schools are worth it. $500 bucks for the one or two week program with hands on experience and they will help place you somewhere. I just don't know if they actually work out as well as they advertise ???

Guest jbit