Clubplanet Nightlife Community

REAL reason not to post real names >

An important rule was brought up by the other post ( http://bbs.clubplanet.com/ubb/Forum1/HTML/020660.html ) before it went off on a tangent. Perhaps the most important reason not to use other people's real names on this board (unless it's ok with them) is that Big Brother is watching. I work in the computer industry and along with my fellow geeks here know just how much of our online activities are being tracked by our employers. If you surf the web from your office, every site you go to, every image you view with your browser and every email you send could be monitored. Let me give you an example: there is software at my office that tracks all of the aforementioned plus how much time I'm on the web, what parts of the day I'm online and which sites I frequent the most. Also, there are "filters" on our email servers that search for certain phrases or words.

Normally, employers look the other way and don't usually view all of the info that the software gathers. However, if they ever want to fire you and can't think of a politically correct and documentable reason that you wouldn't be able to sue them for...guess what?

1) They'll start to sift through your surfing habits.

2) They'll see that you spend time on Clubplanet

3) They'll use Clubplanet's handy little "search" feature to look for posts with your name mentioned ANYWHERE in them.

4) They might find a post about what you'd "consumed" the previos night.

5) Since each post has a unique URL, they'll backtrack to your corporate IP to verify that your REAL name corresponds to your screen name

6) Moday, there'll be a mandatory drug test for all employees...guess who'll fail miserably.

------------------

translucent_figure.gif