Clubplanet Nightlife Community

Too few people for too many clubs?

First let me start by saying that I am not a promoter...I am avid NJ club goer (who is also an amateur DJ looking to get onto the scene one day) :)

Just wanted to say that I think there isnt enough business to go around in NJ for the amount of clubs. Lets face it....there's too many clubs in Jersey and not enough people who listen to the this type of music to fill them.

Bunkas and Abyss were doing fine on Saturdays until Image and Platinum moved into the picture. Now instead of 2 clubs being packed on the weekends...we have 4 clubs that are half filled each week. THere just isnt enough people to fill all these places in NJ. My opinion is one of these places needs to differentiate themselves from the others....which I see Bunkas doing...and they are smart for doing that. They are getting outside international talent....because they know that they will attract NJ people who normally go into the city to see these DJ's. Very few clubs have DJ's that spin trance.....except for Platinum (John Michael)...but not on Fri's or Sat's. Correct me if I'm wrong...but Dave Ralph on a Fri...will be the first time a DJ that spins trance will be spinning on a weekend in NJ (at least that I can remember) (Max was on a Thurs)...and I think we will see a great turnout....but a crowd that is somewhat different from the normal crowd we see every week there.