Clubplanet Nightlife Community

to all the DJs out there... how did you start out?

i'm interested to know how you picked up deejaying? how did you get your first gigs? do you do it on the side or full-time? and anything else you'd like to say...

reason i ask is because i have a brother who is very serious about deejaying. he's self-taught. i'm sure alot of you guys are too.

right now he's working as a first year analyst at a big name investment banking firm and not liking it at all. big surprise right. cwm36.gif

i hate to see him so miserable. i'm just thinking if he could balance his life with some deejaying on the side he's be alot happier.

anyone got some advice? thanks.

practice, buy records, practice some more, go to satelliterecords.com & buy more records, practice some more, practice some more, make some mix tapes for the car, practice some more, buy more records, make a mix CD, practice some more, then suck it up and volunteer to make a friends party better by being the DJ. once he does parties for his friends he is on his way. he can just get bigger/better from there. he might even make some money, but since he has a good job, the money wont stress him out. i think every DJ starts out at parties or by helping his friend, a working DJ, do paid gigs.

------------------

i love music!

[This message has been edited by sirdante (edited 10-04-2000).]

thanks for helping out guys.

yeah, with his first few pay checks he went and replaced all his old equipment with some new ones. and he practices every chance he gets... until the neighbors start knocking down the door. lol.

he's been playing at house parties too. but like back2basics said promoters don't really care about parties.

winter music conference sounds like a step he must take. thanks for the advice, back2basics. where is there more info about that?